City Sightseeing Cambridge

Exploring Cambridge by bus

What is the most touristy thing you can do in Cambridge? Yes, it is the Hop-on, Hop-off Bus! Ever since I came to Cambridge I have always wanted to get on this bus, just for the fun of it. If you are a resident in a city you usually never do these obvious touristy things, but I thought I’d give it a go, as sometimes these activities turn out to be quite interesting and you might learn something completely new about the city you live in.

So when my parents came to visit I thought that this was the perfect opportunity to try out this kind of city sightseeing and to help them get a better overview of Cambridge. It is actually really helpful for people who have never been to Cambridge as the bus takes a full loop tour from Silver Street (Queens’ College), passing all the main tourist attractions in the city centre, going all the way to the station and even to the American Cemetery on Madingley Road far out in the western part of Cambridge.

Sightseeing Cambridge

hoponhopoffbus

Tickets are 15 GBP per person and are valid 24 hours. You can purchase them online or from the bus driver, which is what we did. The buses depart on a frequency of 20 minutes from 10:05 am to 4:45 pm and you can obviously hop on and hop off on any of the 19 tour stops. The tickets come with ear phones, which you can plug in next to your seat, and you can choose your tour guide from nine different languages, which are English, Spanish, German, Italian, French, Mandarin, Cantonese, Japanese, and Russian. So it is also convenient for guests and tourists who do not understand English very well and prefer the commentary in their native language. However, we experienced some difficulties with the ear plugs as some connectors appeared to be faulty.

Bus Cambridge
I think the city sightseeing bus is a relaxed way to explore Cambridge, especially on a Sunday as it takes an extra tour through the very centre of town on Trinity and Sidney Street on Sundays only. And Cambridge is usually crowded with people at the weekends, so it is nice to watch the hustle and bustle from the bus and still have the freedom to jump right into it if you fancy it.

Market Square Cambridge
I recall learning some new things about Cambridge, for example that the station was built rather outside of Cambridge far away from the colleges, so students would not be distracted by the possibility of hopping on a train to London to indulge themselves in the city’s many attractions. However, with some ear plug sockets being broken, the loud motor of the bus, and the airstream upstairs, I was unable to follow all the commentary. But I believe if you just listen very carefully you can make the most of your 15 Pounds and enhance your knowledge about Cambridge by hopping on and off the city sightseeing bus.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

In Cambridge on
24/09/2016

Cambridge mit dem Bus erkunden

City Sightseeing Cambridge

Wenn man in einer Stadt zu Hause ist, unternimmt man ja normalerweise keine dieser typischen touristischen Dinge, aber beim City Sightseeing Bus habe ich eine Ausnahme gemacht! Seit ich in Cambridge wohne, wollte ich schon immer mal in diesem Bus mitfahren, einfach nur aus Spaß an der Freude. Und manchmal sind diese Touren ja doch ganz interessant und man lernt etwas Neues über die Stadt, in der man lebt.

Als meine Eltern zu Besuch waren, habe ich also die Gelegenheit genutzt und ihnen die Stadt mit dem Bus gezeigt. Gerade für jemanden, der noch nie in Cambridge war, ist das eine gute Möglichkeit, einen besseren Überblick über die Stadt zu bekommen. Denn der Bus macht eine komplette Stadtrundfahrt, angefangen auf der Silver Street am Queens‘ College, vorbei an allen wichtigen Sehenswürdigkeiten in Stadtzentrum, über den Bahnhof bis hin zum American Cemetery auf Madingley Road im Westen von Cambridge.

Sightseeing Cambridge

hoponhopoffbus

Tickets kosten 15 Pfund pro Person und sind 24 Stunden lang gültig. Man kann sie online oder beim Busfahrer erwerben, was wir gemacht haben. Die Busse fahren im 20-Minuten-Takt von morgens um 10.05 Uhr bis nachmittags um 16.45 Uhr. In diesem Zeitraum kann man an allen 19 Haltestellen je nach Belieben ein- oder aussteigen. Zu den Tickets werden Ohrstöpsel ausgehändigt, die man neben dem Sitz einstecken kann. Der Reiseführer vom Band erzählt einem dann allerlei interessante Dinge über die Stadt und Universität Cambridge. Man kann dabei zwischen Englisch, Spanisch, Deutsch, Italienisch, Französisch, Mandarin, Kantonesisch, Japanisch und Russisch wählen, was besonders für die Leute praktisch ist, die nicht so gut Englisch verstehen und den Reiseführer lieber in ihrer Muttersprache hören. Bei uns hat das mit den Ohrstöpseln leider nicht immer geklappt, da es an manchen Stellen Probleme mit den Buchsen gab.

Bus Cambridge
Mit dem City Sightseeing Bus unterwegs zu sein, ist eine entspannte Art Cambridge kennenzulernen, vor allem sonntags. Da ist die Stadt zumeist sehr voll und der Bus fährt auch nur sonntags die extra Route über Trinity Street vorbei am Marktplatz zur Sidney Street. Man kann den ganzen Trubel dann entspannt vom Bus aus beobachten und hat immer noch die Freiheit, sich mitten ins Getümmel zu stürzen, wenn man möchte.

Market Square Cambridge

Cambridge Market Square

Ein paar neue Dinge habe ich über Cambridge gelernt, zum Beispiel dass der Bahnhof außerhalb der Stadt und weit weg von den Colleges gebaut wurde, damit Studenten nicht in Versuchung geraten, einfach in den Zug nach London zu steigen, um dort den vielen Attraktionen zu frönen. Durch den lauten Motor, den Fahrtwind im offenen Doppeldecker und den teilweise kaputten Ohrstöpseln fand ich es allerdings schwierig, dem Reiseführer stetig zu folgen. Wenn man aber gut zuhört, kann man sicher alles aus den 15 Pfund rausholen und viel Neues über Cambridge lernen, besonders wenn man nur kurz zu Besuch in der Stadt ist.

Previous Post Next Post

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d Bloggern gefällt das: