In Cambridge on
05/11/2016

Weird and wonderful Cambridge traditions

There is something special about autumn, particularly if you live in Cambridge. It is the time of the year when students return from their long summer holidays or, if they are freshers, start a completely new life in Cambridge, like Nis and I did last year. I almost can’t believe that we have now lived one year in Cambridge. Time flies!

So with the beginning of a new academic year, typical Cambridge traditions come back to life again. Students wear their gowns for formal hall, fellows still walk on the grass in the College courts whereas students are compelled to stick to the paths, and the porters rebuke those who do not follow these rules.

formal hall Darwin

Formal Hall Darwin College

I would like to introduce you to three other Cambridge traditions I have come across during the last year. They mostly relate to the collegiate system that Cambridge is quite famous for. The Colleges in Cambridge are autonomous entities with own statutes and procedures. But if you want to study at the University of Cambridge you have to be a member of one of the 31 Colleges. The College provides accommodation, food, and welfare, students can sign up for various societies for sport, music and other leisure time activities, and socialise with other students in the common rooms and the bar. So most of the social life happens in the Colleges.

College families

It can be tough to move away from home for the first time and to settle into a new town or even a new country or continent where you do not have any family or friends. So to make the new start a bit easier, freshers are being assigned two College parents, who are in their second year and therefore more familiar with the whole Cambridge experience. These two parents can actually get “married” and call each other College husband and wife. They take care of their fresher children and give them advice on how to survive the first few weeks in Cambridge. It is like a mentoring programme, but a lot more informal. Nis is a College father this year and was therefore “married” to Schirin, his College wife. Together they are looking after ten College children.

college-parents-caius

College parents Nis and Schirin

I wish I would have had some sort of College parents when I was in my first year at uni. It would have made things so much easier, especially while settling in, getting used to a new environment and making new friends.

Supervisions

Another unique Cambridge tradition is the supervision system, which is regarded as one of the best teaching models in the world. A supervision is a small group teaching session for one to three people where undergraduate students revise the subject of lectures and classes together with a postgraduate student or a professor. Students have the opportunity to enhance their knowledge, to ask questions, and to get ready for their final exams in summer.

Bop

A bop is Cambridge slang for a College-run party. Usually a bop has a specific theme which is why people dress up according to this theme. The last theme of Gonville & Caius bop was “Under the sea” and some students put a lot of effort into creating their costumes:

college-bop-costume

If you are not familiar with the Cambridge jargon the first few weeks as a student can be quite confusing. But the longer you live here the more naturally you use these terms without even noticing how odd it might sound for someone “outside the bubble”. Peterhouse has a very helpful glossary of Cambridge jargon on their website, just in case you want to learn more about the weird and wonderful Cambridge terminology.

Previous Post Next Post

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

In Cambridge on
05/11/2016

Wunder- und sonderbare Cambridge Traditionen

Der Herbst ist eine besondere Jahreszeit, vor allem in Cambridge. Es ist die Zeit, in der die Studenten nach einem langen Sommer wieder zurück nach Cambridge kommen oder als Erstsemester ein ganz neues Leben hier anfangen, so wie Nis und ich das letztes Jahr getan haben. Unfassbar, dass wir nun schon ein Jahr in Cambridge sind. Die Zeit fliegt nur so vorüber!

Mit dem Beginn des neuen akademischen Jahres werden selbstverständlich wieder einige Cambridge Traditionen zum Leben erweckt. Ich hatte ja schon einmal erwähnt, dass zum Beispiel nur die „Fellows“ den Rasen im College betreten dürfen oder dass die Studenten zu bestimmten Anlässen wie der „Formal Hall“ einen „Gown“ tragen müssen. Falls ihr mit all den Begrifflichkeiten nichts anfangen könnt, habe ich hier vor längerer Zeit eine kleine Vokabelhilfe für Cambridge veröffentlicht.

formal hall Darwin

Formal Hall Darwin College

Drei dieser teils sonderbaren, teils sehr schönen Traditionen möchte ich euch hier vorstellen. Sie stehen stark im Zusammenhang mit dem College-System und der Gemeinschaft in den Colleges, die es Studenten leichter macht, sich in einer neuen Umgebung einzuleben. Die Colleges in Cambridge sind von der Universität unabhängige Institutionen mit eigenen Satzungen und Regelungen. Um an der Uni Cambridge studieren zu können, muss man jedoch Mitglied eines der insgesamt 31 Colleges sein. Hier findet dann zum Großteil das soziale Leben statt. Das College stellt Unterkunft und Verpflegung zur Verfügung, die Studenten können hier zum Beispiel den verschiedenen Clubs für Sport, Musik oder anderen Freizeitbeschäftigungen beitreten und soziale Beziehungen aufbauen.

College-Familien

Um Neuankömmlingen den Start in Cambridge einfacher zu machen, bekommen sie College-Eltern zugewiesen. Das sind zwei erfahrene Studenten aus dem zweiten Jahr, die quasi „heiraten“ und einige College-Kinder unter ihre Fittiche nehmen. Als College-Kind kann man sich bei Fragen rund um das Studium an seine College-Eltern wenden, die dann Tipps und gute Ratschläge an ihre Kinder weitergeben. Das funktioniert im Prinzip wie ein Mentoring-Programm, nur ungezwungener. Nis ist dieses Jahr College-Vater und hat dafür seine Kommilitonin Schirin „geheiratet“. Gemeinsam haben sie zehn College-Kinder, denen sie nun mit Rat und Tat zur Seite stehen.

college-parents-caius

College-Eltern Schirin und Nis

Ich wünschte ich hätte damals beim Start meines Studiums so etwas wie College-Eltern gehabt. Es hätte die Eingewöhnungsphase um einiges erleichtert, da man einen direkten Ansprechpartner hat, über den man eventuell weitere Leute kennenlernt und sich damit schneller ein soziales Netz aufbauen kann.

Supervisions

Eine weitere einzigartige Tradition in Cambridge sind die Supervisions, die das College den „Undergraduates“ (Studenten vor dem ersten universitären Abschluss) zur Verfügung stellt. Das sind Übungsstunden in kleinen Gruppen von einer bis maximal drei Personen, bei denen Doktoranden und Professoren gemeinsam mit Studenten den Stoff aus Vorlesungen und Seminaren wiederholen und vertiefen. In diesen Gruppen werden gemeinsam Aufgaben bearbeitet, es gibt die Möglichkeit Fragen zu stellen und im Sommer werden die Studenten für die Abschlussprüfungen fit gemacht.

Bop

Ein Bop ist im Cambridge Jargon die Bezeichnung für eine College-Party, die von Studenten für Studenten organisiert wird. Normalerweise hat ein Bop ein bestimmtes Motto, sodass sich die Gäste entsprechend verkleiden. Das Motto des Gonville & Caius Bop war in diesem Term „Under the sea“. Manche Studenten geben sich richtig viel Mühe mit dem Kostüm und sehen dann so aus:

college-bop-costume
Wenn man nicht mit der Cambridge Fachsprache vertraut ist, können viele Ausdrücke am Anfang verwirrend sein. Je länger man in Cambridge lebt, desto selbstverständlicher wird der Umgang mit diesen Begrifflichkeiten und Traditionen jedoch. Für all diejenigen, die noch mehr zum Cambridge Jargon wissen möchten, hat Peterhouse College hier ein hilfreiches Glossar veröffentlicht.

Previous Post Next Post

Leave a Reply

%d Bloggern gefällt das: