In Cambridge on
19/11/2016

The College Challenge

peterhouse-cambridge

My second year of living in Cambridge has just begun and I want to make the most of it! While the first year has mostly been about settling in, finding a job, making new friends and finding a place to live, I am now eager to dig in deeper and explore the city in all its richness. One goal I set myself for this second year is visiting every College in Cambridge.

There are 31 Colleges overall, some of them are located in the middle of town, some further outside, there are new and old Colleges, some with a reputation of being rich, some are said to be rather low on funds.

I created some sort of College profile that I will try to tick every time I visit a particular College. I am also interested in when the best time is to visit a College – seasons, particular days or hours of the day and I am hoping to share some of my experience with you here. I know that some Colleges do not seem to be very nice to visitors, which is understandable, given the fact that these places are supposed to be quiet havens for students and fellows, and not some crowded tourist attractions. Let’s get started with Peterhouse, which seems to be an obvious choice for my first entry as it was the first College to be founded in Cambridge.

peterhousechapel

Peterhouse Chapel

  • Name: Peterhouse (and not Peterhouse College!)
  • Founded in: 1284, which makes it the oldest College in Cambridge
  • Location: very central on Trumpington Road, just opposite Pembroke College and next to the Fitzwilliam Museum
  • Size: smallest College in Cambridge
    241 undergraduates, 75 admitted each year, 163 postgraduates
  • Special features: thirteenth-century Hall (the oldest in Cambridge); Deer Park (large green space behind the Fitzwilliam Museum)
firstcourt-peterhouse

First Court Peterhouse

  • Reputation: It is being said that students receive generous, financial support in their research as Peterhouse is not only the smallest but also one of the wealthiest Colleges in Cambridge. Peterhouse was one of the last Colleges to admit women, which is why it still has a reputation of being backward-looking and misogynist. However, Peterhouse is now being led by a female Master, Bridget Kendall.
oldcourt-peterhouse

Old Court Peterhouse

  • My impression: I went there on a quiet Wednesday morning in November around 11 am. The gate on Trumpington Road was open and I did not have to go through the Porter’s Lodge to access the courts, so there was no need to justify myself in front of the Porters what I was doing there. My advice: don’t start taking pictures when the Porters are still able to see you, because it is then very obvious that you are a visitor. Just walk very determined to the old court and take your photos there.
gisbornecourt

Gisborne Court

Autumn in general is a lovely time to visit the Colleges as you can take some snapshots of the beautiful architecture in autumnal colours. In summer most of the students are away on their big summer break and Cambridge is normally crowded by tourists at that time, especially in July and August. So I had the impression that Colleges very often shut their doors completely or charge an admission fee during that time.

gisbornecourt-whittlebuildi

Gisborne Court and Whittle Building

whittlebuilding

Whittle Building

peterhouse-garden

Leftovers from the last party

I have heard stories of how tourists were just not able to behave themselves while visiting a College, meaning they were noisy, stepped onto the holy grass, helped themselves to coffee and tea that was not meant for them, and so on. If you can, avoid visiting a College with a large group, stick to the paths and do what the Porters say because they have the power to kick you out if you misbehave.

Previous Post Next Post

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this:

In Cambridge on
19/11/2016

Die College Challenge

peterhouse-cambridge

Mein zweites Jahr in Cambridge hat nun begonnen und ich möchte das Beste daraus machen! In meinem ersten Jahr war es erst einmal wichtig, sich einzuleben, einen Job zu finden, neue Freunde kennenzulernen und eine schöne Wohnung zu finden. Jetzt bin ich bereit, die Stadt mit all ihren Facetten besser kennenzulernen. Ein Ziel, das ich mir für das nächste Jahr gesetzt habe, ist alle Colleges in Cambridge zu besuchen.

Es gibt hier insgesamt 31 Colleges, manche davon befinden sich direkt im Stadtzentrum, andere etwas außerhalb, es gibt neue und alte Colleges, einige haben den Ruf, eher knapp bei Kasse zu sein, andere wiederum scheinen recht reich zu sein.

Ich habe eine Art College-Profil angelegt, das ich mir immer im Hinterkopf behalten möchte, wenn ich ein College besuche. Außerdem interessiert es mich, ob es bestimmte Tage, Jahres- oder Tageszeiten gibt, an denen es besonders sinnvoll ist, ein College zu besuchen. Ich hoffe, dass ich meine Erfahrungen hier mit euch teilen kann. Manche Colleges sind nicht wirklich freundlich im Umgang mit Besuchern, was nachvollziehbar ist, wenn man bedenkt, dass die Colleges Rückzugsorte für Studenten und Wissenschaftler, und keine Touristenattraktionen sind. Fangen wir doch mit Peterhouse und damit ganz chronologisch an, denn es ist das erste College, das in Cambridge gegründet wurde.

peterhousechapel

Peterhouse Chapel

  • Name: Peterhouse (und nicht Peterhouse College!)
  • Gegründet: 1284 (und damit ist es das älteste College in Cambridge)
  • Lage: recht zentral auf Trumpington Street, gegenüber von Pembroke College und neben dem Fitzwilliam Museum
  • Größe: kleinstes College in Cambridge
    241 Studenten, 163 postgraduierte Studenten, 75 neu zugelassene Studenten pro Jahr
  • Besonderheiten: Speisesaal aus dem 13. Jahrhundert (der älteste in Cambridge); Deer Park (große Grünfläche hinter dem Fitzwilliam Museum)
firstcourt-peterhouse

First Court Peterhouse

  • Ruf:
    Dadurch, dass Peterhouse das kleinste, aber auch eines der reichsten Colleges ist, munkelt man, dass Studenten hier finanziell sehr freigiebig in ihrer Forschung unterstützt werden.
    Peterhouse war eines der letzten Colleges, die Frauen zum Studium zugelassen haben. Deshalb wird das College immer noch mit einem rückwärtsgewandten und frauenfeindlichen Ruf in Verbindung gebracht. Allerdings steht das College seit kurzem unter weiblicher Leitung.
oldcourt-peterhouse

Old Court Peterhouse

  • Mein Eindruck: Ich habe Peterhouse an einem ruhigen Mittwochmorgen im November gegen 11 Uhr besucht. Das Tor Richtung Trumpington Road stand offen und man muss auch nicht durch die Porter’s Lodge gehen, um in die Innenhöfe zu gelangen, d.h. die Rechtfertigung vor den Pförtnern blieb mir erspart. Mein Tipp: Auf keinen Fall Fotos machen, solange einen die Pförtner noch sehen können. Dann ist gleich klar, dass man ein Tourist ist. Man muss einfach zielstrebig an der Porter’s Lodge vorbeilaufen, dann fragt auch niemand, was man hier zu suchen hat.
gisbornecourt

Gisborne Court

Generell ist der Herbst eine gute Jahreszeit, um die Colleges zu besuchen, da die Gebäude dann in wunderschönen Herbstfarben erstrahlen. Im Sommer sind viele Studenten weg und normalerweise wird Cambridge in dieser Zeit von Touristen überflutet, besonders im Juli und August. Ich glaube deshalb machen viele Colleges im Sommer komplett dicht oder verlangen Eintritt.

gisbornecourt-whittlebuildi

Gisborne Court and Whittle Building

whittlebuilding

Whittle Building

peterhouse-garden

Übrigbleibsel der letzten Party

Ich habe schon Geschichten gehört, dass sich Touristen zum Teil einfach nicht benehmen können. Sie sind laut, laufen über den heiligen, englischen Rasen oder bedienen sich an Kaffee und Tee, der nicht für sie bestimmt ist. Wenn man kann, sollte man ein College nie mit einer großen Gruppe besuchen, auf jeden Fall immer auf den Wegen bleiben und das tun, was die Pförtner sagen.

Previous Post Next Post

Leave a Reply

%d Bloggern gefällt das: