Harry Potter Bridge

Scotland road trip: Glen Coe and Ben Nevis

On day two of our road trip through Scotland we picked up our hired car and made our way up to the highlands! With Fort William being our final destination, we first stopped in Glen Coe, which is said to be the most famous glen in Scotland. The main road threads its way through the middle of some stunning mountain grandeur and you could stop the car after each turn on this windy road to take in amazing views.

Glen Coe

Loch Leven
Loch Leven in Glencoe

We got our walking boots out and used the repellent against the midges for the first time before we went on a walk around Glencoe Lochan. Several people had warned us about the highland midge, a very small insect which leaves itchy stings on your skin. We either did the right thing by applying a lot of repellent or there were not that many midges after all as neither of us had one sting after our holiday.

Glencoe Lochan Scotland Road Trip

Glencoe Lochan
Glencoe Lochan is an artificial lake created by Lord Strathcona in 1895 for his homesick Canadian wife Isabella, which is probably why it’s surrounded by a North American-style forest. There are three easy walks (40 minutes to an hour), all detailed on a signboard at the car park.

Our accommodation for the next two days was at the foot of Ben Nevis, the highest mountain in the British Isles (1,344m or 4,406ft). This is definitely the place to be if you are a true hiker. Ben Nevis is part of the Three Peaks Challenge, which involves climbing the three highest peaks in England, Scotland and Wales, often within 24 hours.

I do enjoy short, low-level walks but I don’t see the point in walking eight hours on a misty mountain with rain coming from all sides. And apparently Ben Nevis is covered with cloud 355 days of the year and drenched in 4,350mm of rain (compared with only 2,050mm in nearby Fort William), so there are not many days without clouds, rain or snow.

Scotland Road Trip Ben Nevis

So instead of climbing Ben Nevis we went on a very special and scenic railway journey on day three, the Jacobite Steam Train, aka Hogwarts Express. It takes a round trip from Fort William to Mallaig and crosses the famous Glenfinnan viaduct, which some of you might have seen in the Harry Potter films. Passengers have a 1 ½ hour stay in Mallaig, a pretty harbour town on the west coast of Scotland. The train also stops briefly in Glenfinnan where people can visit the Station Museum.

Scotland Road Trip Glenfinnan

Glenfinnan Viaduct
Glenfinnan viaduct aka Harry Potter bridge
Mallaig Scotland Road Trip
Mallaig

Jacobite Steam Train Scotland Road Trip

If you plan on taking this train during your Scotland holiday be quick to book tickets online. I left it until last minute, so there were no longer any tickets available for our desired date. Luckily, the train guard sells a few tickets on the day but you have to be at the station early, around one hour before departure as they are sold on a first come first served basis.

I have to admit, I’m not a massive Harry Potter fan but taking the Jacobite was definitely one of my highlights during this Scotland holiday. I just enjoy being on a train, especially with amazing views like these across the highlands and lochs.

Scotland road trip Glenfinnan viaduct Harry Potter Bridge

Read about day 1 of our Scotland trip here.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

In Travel on
16/07/2017

Schottland Road Trip: Glen Coe und Ben Nevis

Harry Potter Bridge

Am zweiten Tag unseres Road Trips durch Schottland haben wir zunächst unseren Mietwagen abgeholt und los ging es damit in die Highlands! Fort William war unser Ziel mit einem Zwischenstopp in Glen Coe, das angeblich das berühmteste Tal in Schottland ist. Die Hauptstraße schlängelt sich hier durch das enge Tal umgeben von imposanten Bergen und nach jeder Kurve könnte man eigentlich anhalten um die beeindruckende Aussicht zu genießen.

Glen Coe

Loch Leven

Loch Leven in Glencoe

Wir haben hier zum ersten Mal unsere Wanderschuhe ausgepackt und uns mit Insektenschutzmittel eingesprüht bevor wir um Glencoe Lochan herumgelaufen sind. Mehrere Leute haben uns schon im Voraus vor den sogenannten „Midges“ gewarnt, kleine Mücken, die angeblich furchtbar juckende Stiche hinterlassen. Entweder wir haben uns einfach zu gut mit Insektenschutzmittel eingesprüht oder es waren doch nicht so viele Midges unterwegs, denn keiner von uns hatte auch nur einen Stich nach dem Urlaub.

Glencoe Lochan

Glencoe Lochan
Glencoe Lochan ist ein künstlich angelegter See, geschaffen 1895 von Lord Strathcona für seine kanadische Frau Isabella, die unter Heimweh litt. Aus diesem Grund ist der See vermutlich von Wäldern umgeben, die der Vegetation in Nordamerika ähneln. Es gibt hier drei einfache Wanderrouten (40 Minuten bis eine Stunde), die auf einem Schild am Parkplatz genau beschrieben sind.

Unsere Unterkunft für die nächsten zwei Tage war am Fuß von Ben Nevis, dem höchsten Berg in Großbritannien (1344 m). Ben Nevis ist ein wahres Paradies für alle Wanderfreunde. Der Berg ist Teil der “Three Peaks Challenge”, bei der es gilt, den jeweils höchsten Berg in Schottland, England (Scafell Pike) und Wales (Snowdon) zu besteigen, zumeist innerhalb von 24 Stunden.

Ich mag kurze, überschaubare Strecken, aber ich bin nicht wirklich ein ambitionierter Wanderer, der bei Wind und Wetter acht Stunden auf nebligen Bergen herumspaziert. Anscheinend verschwindet Ben Nevis an 355 Tagen im Jahr unter Wolken und wird jährlich von 4350mm Regen durchnässt (verglichen mit nur 2050mm im nahe gelegenen Fort William). Es gibt also kaum einen Tag, der nicht bewölkt oder regnerisch ist.

Um dem Regen zu entfliehen, haben wir uns am dritten Tag also auf eine malerische und besondere Zugfahrt gemacht. Der Jacobite Steam Train ist eine alte Dampflok, die in den Harry Potter Filmen als „Hogwarts Express“ zu sehen ist. Der Zug fährt von Fort William über das berühmte Glennfinnan Viadukt bis nach Mallaig, eine hübsche kleine Hafenstadt an der Westküste Schottlands, wo Passagiere einen eineinhalbstündigen Aufenthalt haben.

Glenfinnan Viaduct

Glenfinnan Viaduct aka Harry Potter Bridge

Mallaig

Mallaig

Man sollte allerdings schnell sein und Tickets im Voraus online buchen. Ich hab eine Woche vorher geschaut und da war es schon zu spät. Glücklicherweise verkauft der Schaffner am Tag selbst noch Tickets, aber man sollte dann möglichst früh am Bahnhof sein und sich in die Schlange einreihen, da die Tickets schnell weg sind.

Auch wenn ich ehrlich gesagt kein großer Harry Potter Fan bin, war der Jacobite Steam Train neben der Isle of Skye das Highlight meines Schottland Urlaubs. Ich mag Zug fahren einfach, vor allem wenn es mit einer so schönen Aussicht auf die Highlands und Lochs verbunden ist.

Hier geht’s zu Tag 1 unseres Schottland Urlaubs.

Previous Post Next Post

2 Comments

  • Angie

    Das sind ja wieder mega Fotos…
    Jumping Nis ist der Knaller 😂

    Montag, der 17. Juli 2017 at 18:21 Reply
    • lena

      Haha, ja Nis ist mein Model. 😀

      Mittwoch, der 19. Juli 2017 at 14:24 Reply

    Leave a Reply

    %d Bloggern gefällt das: