In Travel on
06/08/2017

Scotland road trip: Isle of Skye

Coral Beach Skye

You can reach the Isle of Skye either by ferry from Mallaig or by car via the Skye Bridge which spans the sea between the villages of Kyle of Lochalsh (mainland) and Kyleakin (Skye). If you rely on Google maps for directions I’d recommend that you make this map area available for offline use as there is barely any signal on Skye.

Accommodation on the Isle of Skye

Portree Harbour

We booked our Bed & Breakfast accommodation in Portree two months before our trip, which was almost too late. The Isle of Skye has become incredibly popular and busy with tourists over the last few years. It is the biggest of Scotland’s island, yet it is a relatively small place, so a lot of the B&Bs, hotels and self-catering houses are fully booked far in advance.

Most of the B&Bs are quite small and only have three or four bedrooms, so it feels like you are staying in someone’s home rather than in a hotel, which adds a nice personal touch. The hosts are often keen to build a friendly relationship with their guests, giving them tips on what to do during their holiday.

Things to do on Skye

As we only spent two days here our main focus was on the northern part of Skye, also called the Trotternish Peninsula. One of the top tourist attractions here is the Old Man of Storr, a large pinnacle of rock that can be seen for miles around. Getting to the ‘Old Man’ is probably the most famous and also the busiest walk on the Isle of Skye. Nis and I didn’t go on this walk but explored the Bearreraig Bay instead to look for fossils. Unfortunately I forgot to take photos of the Old Man of Storr from the main road, so now I don’t have any pictures of the main attraction on Skye. But it’s fine, we had a lovely time exploring the bay, which was definitely a less busy and more peaceful walk.

Bearreraig Bay Isle of Skye

Exploring Skye by car is so much fun and we stopped so many times to take in amazing views and to capture them with my camera. There are great photo opportunities everywhere and it is in fact a paradise for photographers. However, there are many single track roads with passing places along the route, so you have to drive carefully and be prepared for what’s next around the corner.

Road trip Scotland Isle of Skye

Flodigarry Hotel Isle of Skye

Flodigarry Hotel

Lunchtime view!

The Quiraing

Another spectacular place for photographers is the Quiraing. As part of the Trotternish ridge it has been formed by a massive landslip which has created high cliffs, hidden plateaus and pinnacles of rock. The area has been featured in a few films, for example Macbeth (2015), the BFG (2016), and very recently in Transformers: The Last Knight. The landscape does look rather supernatural and with a considerable drop down the hillside on the right, this walk is definitely not made for people with vertigo.

Road trip Scotland Isle of Skye

Road trip Scotland Isle of Skye Quiraing

Road trip Scotland Isle of Skye Quiraing

The Quiraing

On our way back south we stopped at Duntulum castle which is basically a ruin but has some really nice views across the sea.

Road trip Scotland Isle of Skye Duntulum Castle

Back in Portree, we had dinner in a seafood restaurant called ‘Seabreezes’. You have to make a reservation as it seems to be quite popular and it’s a bit pricey too but it’s so worth it! They serve really tasty and fresh sea food.

Road trip Scotland Isle of Skye Portree Bay

Portree Bay

Fairy Glen

There are so many places on Skye that are just otherworldly and one of them is Fairy Glen near the village Uig. It is basically like the Quiraing but in miniature form. I still can’t believe that this place has been formed by nature because to me it looked very man-made. One of the hills actually looks like a ruin and has funnily been called Castle Ewen.

Road trip Scotland Isle of Skye Castle Ewen

Castle Ewen

Road trip Scotland Isle of Skye Fairy Glen

Road trip Scotland Isle of Skye Fairy Glen

Road trip Scotland Isle of Skye Fairy Glen

Between these small round-topped grassy hills with little ponds in between we also spotted a little bunny, which made this place even more surreal. I think this is where Alice fell down the rabbit hole into wonderland.

Road trip Scotland Isle of Skye Fairy Glen

Dunvegan Castle

In the north-western part of Skye you can find Dunvegan Castle, one of the island’s major attractions. It has been the seat of the Clan MacLeod for 800 years and it is still a family home to them. The castle was first opened to the public in 1933 for two days a week but now welcomes thousands of visitors each day from April to October.

Road trip Scotland Isle of Skye Dunvegan Castle

Claigan coral beaches

If you pass the big car park in front of the castle and continue on the single track road you will reach the Claigan coral beaches in about 15 minutes by car. The beaches here are formed from the bleached skeletons of a red coralline seaweed known as maërl. We had some wonderful sunshine that afternoon and the photos look like we spent it on a tropical beach. It was not as hot as it looks though! But some people were still brave enough to go swimming.

Road trip Scotland Isle of Skye Coral beach

Road trip Scotland Isle of Skye Coral Beach

Road trip Scotland Isle of Skye
Skye is such a beautiful place with breathtaking landscapes and it’s a shame we had so little time to explore the island. If there is a next time I will definitely try to spend at least one week in one of these cute white cottages that can be found everywhere around the island and explore the southern part of Skye as well.

Road trip Scotland Isle of Skye

Road trip Scotland Isle of Skye

Road trip Scotland Isle of Skye Uig

Previous Post Next Post

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

In Travel on
06/08/2017

Schottland Road Trip: Isle of Skye

Coral Beach Skye

Die Isle of Skye erreicht man entweder mit der Fähre von Mallaig aus oder mit dem Auto über die Skye Bridge, die sich zwischen den Dörfern Kyle of Lochalsh (Festland) und Kyleakin (Skye) erstreckt. Falls Google Maps euer Navigationssystem ist, solltet ihr die Karte offline verfügbar machen, da es auf Skye kaum mobilen Handy Empfang gibt.

Unterkunft auf der Isle of Skye

Portree Harbour

Wir haben unsere Unterkunft in einem Bed & Breakfast in Portree zwei Monate vorher gebucht, was fast schon zu spät war. Die Isle of Skye ist in den letzten Jahren ein extrem beliebtes Touristenziel geworden. Es ist zwar die größte der schottischen Inseln, trotzdem ist hier nicht allzu viel Platz und viele B&Bs, Hotels und Ferienhäuser sind schon weit im Voraus ausgebucht.

Die meisten B&Bs sind recht klein und haben nur so drei oder vier Zimmer. Es kommt einem fast so vor als sei man zu Besuch bei Freunden, da die Besitzer oft versuchen, eine freundliche Beziehung mit ihren Gästen aufzubauen. Unser Gastgeber hat uns so viele Tipps gegeben und Bücher ausgeliehen, mit denen wir unseren Aufenthalt auf Skye besser planen konnten.

Unterwegs auf Skye

Da wir nur zwei Tage auf Skye hatten, haben wir uns auf den nördlichen Teil fokussiert, den man auch Trotternish Peninsula nennt. Eine der Hauptattraktionen hier ist der „Old Man of Storr“, ein Berg mit Felsen, die wie Zinnen aussehen. Die Wanderung hierher ist wohl eine der berühmtesten Touren, die viele Besucher während ihres Urlaubs machen. Da uns der Aufstieg zu geschäftig war, haben Nis und ich entschlossen stattdessen Fossilien im nahe gelegenen Bearreraig Bay suchen zu gehen. Leider habe ich vergessen, Fotos vom Old Man of Storr von der Hauptstraße aus zu machen, weshalb ich nun leider keine Fotos von der Hauptattraktion auf Skye habe. Aber das ist okay, wir hatten eine schöne und entspannte Wanderung zur Bucht ohne viele andere Touristen.

Bearreraig Bay Isle of Skye

Eine meiner liebsten Beschäftigungen war die Insel mit dem Auto zu erkunden. Man könnte wirklich alle 100 Meter anhalten, um die Aussicht zu genießen und Fotos zu machen. Skye ist ein echtes Paradies für Fotografen. Man sollte jedoch vorsichtig fahren, da viele Straßen nur eine Spur haben. Es gibt zwar Ausweichstellen, aber man weiß im Prinzip nie, was als nächstes um die Ecke kommt.

Flodigarry Hotel Isle of Skye

Flodigarry Hotel

Lunchtime view!

The Quiraing

Ein weiterer spektakulärer Ort für Fotografen ist der Quiraing. Das ist ein Bergkamm, der durch einen gewaltigen Erdrutsch geformt wurde und nun aus hohen Klippen, versteckten Bergplateaus und Felsenkanten besteht. Die Gegend hier kommt in einigen Filmen vor, zum Beispiel Macbeth (2015), The BFG – Big Friendly Giant (2016) und ganz neu in Transformers: The Last Knight. Die Landschaft sieht wirklich wie aus einer anderen Welt aus und wenn man hier wandern geht, sollte man keine Höhenangst haben, denn das Gefälle zur rechten Seite ist ganz schön einschüchternd.

Quiraing Isle of Skye

The Quiraing

Auf dem Weg zurück nach Portree war unser letzter Stopp an diesem Tag Duntulum Castle, was im Prinzip eine Ruine ist, aber man hat hier einen wunderbaren Blick aufs Meer.

Duntulum Castle

In Portree haben wir in einem Restaurant namens „Seabreezes“ zu Abend gegessen. Man sollte hier reservieren, da es recht beliebt zu sein scheint und es ist auch etwas teurer, aber es lohnt sich! Der Fisch hier ist ganz frisch und sehr lecker.

Portree Bay

Portree Bay

Fairy Glen

Es gibt auf Skye einige Orte, die aus einer anderen Welt zu sein scheinen und einer davon ist Fairy Glen in der Nähe des Dorfes Uig. Hier sieht es quasi aus wie im Quiraing, nur im Miniaturformat. Ich kann es immer noch nicht fassen, dass dieser Ort von der Natur geformt wurde, da es so aussieht als hätten es Menschen erschaffen. Ein Hügel ähnelt tatsächlich einer Ruine und wird witzigerweise Castle Ewen genannt.

Castle Ewen

Castle Ewen

Inmitten dieser runden Grashügel haben wir einen kleinen Hasen entdeckt, was diesen Ort noch surrealer macht. Ich glaube, hier ist Alice durch den Kaninchenbau ins Wunderland gefallen.

Dunvegan Castle

Im Nordwesten von Skye befindet sich Dunvegan Castle, eines der Hauptattraktionen der Insel. Es ist seit 800 Jahren der Sitz der MacLeod Sippe und die Familie wohnt hier immer noch. Ab 1933 konnten Besucher das Schloss zwei Mal in der Woche besichtigen, heute ist es von April bis Oktober täglich geöffnet und empfängt tausende Besucher jährlich.

Dunvegan Castle

Claigan coral beaches

Fährt man am Parkplatz vor dem Schloss vorbei und bleibt für ca. 15 Minuten auf der einspurigen Straße, gelangt man irgendwann zum Claigan Korallenstrand. Der Strand hier besteht aus Kies von toten, ausgeblichenen Rotalgen, die Maerl genannt werden. Wir hatten wunderbaren Sonnenschein und auf den Fotos sieht es so aus, als hätten wir den Nachmittag an einem tropischen Strand verbracht. Ganz so warm war es dann allerdings doch nicht, obwohl einige Leute mutig genug waren ins Wasser zu gehen.

Coral beach Skye


Skye ist ein wunderschöner Urlaubsort mit atemberaubenden Landschaften und es ist zu schade, dass wir so wenig Zeit hatten, die Insel zu erkunden. Falls es ein nächstes Mal gibt, würde ich gerne mindestens eine Woche in einem dieser hübschen weißen Cottages verbringen und auch den südlichen Teil der Insel erkunden.

Previous Post Next Post

Leave a Reply

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.

%d Bloggern gefällt das: