Liverpool Pier Head

Trip to Liverpool

The last stop on our trip to the Northwest of England was Liverpool which is just a one hour drive away from Manchester. The first thing I noticed about Liverpool is the grand and imperial architecture. Compared to other cities, that I have visited in England, everything seems to be bigger and wider.

To understand why you need to take a look back at the city’s history, which is strongly related to the port and trade. During the Industrial Revolution, Liverpool made big profits with trade of raw materials such as coal and cotton, but also with the Atlantic slave trade. For periods during the 19th century, the wealth of Liverpool exceeded that of London. Many grand buildings were constructed as headquarters for shipping firms, insurance companies and banks as the city had one of the most important trading ports in the world.

Albert Dock Liverpool
Albert Dock

Pier Head

Cultural Quarter Liverpool
Cultural Quarter

The thousands of migrants and sailors passing through Liverpool resulted in a religious and ethical diversity that is still apparent today. I think Liverpool has a very cosmopolitan atmosphere which is also reflected in the city’s cultural scene. Apparently you can find the largest collection of museums and galleries outside London in Liverpool. The waterfront with the Albert Dock and Pier Head is a designated UNESCO World Heritage Site since 2004.

Albert Dock Liverpool

Moreover, Liverpool is known for its two football clubs FC Everton and FC Liverpool and for its vibrant music scene of the 1960s. The Beatles were actually formed here! All this makes Liverpool a popular travel destination and it is definitely more touristy than Manchester for example. I also enjoyed listening to the locals’ distinctive accent called “scouse”. As a non-native English speaker I normally find it quite difficult to distinguish different British accents but scouse is a very recognisable accent and actually quite hard to understand.

We only spent one day in Liverpool and did a river cruise on the Mersey, explored the Albert Dock and had a stroll on Bold Street and around the Cultural Quarter. But I think there is so much more to explore and see, so you could definitely spend at least a long weekend here without getting bored.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

In Travel on
11/06/2017

Ausflug nach Liverpool

Liverpool Pier Head

Der letzte Stopp auf unserer Reise in den Nordwesten Englands war Liverpool, was nur eine Stunde Autofahrt von Manchester entfernt liegt. Das erste, was mir hier besonders aufgefallen ist, ist die prachtvolle und stattliche Architektur. Im Vergleich zu anderen Städten in England, die ich schon besucht habe, ist hier alles irgendwie größer, weiter und herrschaftlicher.

Das liegt an der Geschichte der Stadt, die eng mit dem Hafen und damit mit dem Handel verbunden ist. Während der Industriellen Revolution profitierte Liverpool neben dem Handel mit Rohstoffen wie Baumwolle oder Kohle vor allem vom atlantischen Sklavenhandel. In Zeiten des 19. Jahrhunderts war Liverpool angeblich reicher als London. Banken, Versicherungen und große Handelsfirmen ließen sich in einer der damals wichtigsten Hafenstädte nieder und bauten stattliche Gebäude im neoklassizistischen Stil.

Albert Dock Liverpool

Albert Dock

Pier Head

Cultural Quarter Liverpool

Cultural Quarter

Viele Migranten und Seefahrer, die in Liverpool auf der Durchreise waren, trugen dazu bei, dass sich die Stadt zu einem Schmelztiegel verschiedener Religionen und Ethnien entwickelte. Ich finde, man spürt heute noch, dass die Stadt etwas Kosmopolitisches hat. Das spiegelt sich auch im Kulturangebot wieder. Angeblich gibt es in Liverpool die höchste Dichte an Galerien und Museen nach London. Das Hafenviertel mit Albert Dock und Pier Head steht seit 2004 auf der Liste der Weltkulturerbestätten der UNESCO.

Albert Dock Liverpool


Liverpool ist außerdem bekannt für die traditionsreichen Fußballvereine FC Everton und FC Liverpool und für die pulsierende Musikszene in den 1960ern, unter der unter anderem die Beatles hervorgingen. All das macht die Stadt zu einem beliebten Reiseziel und ich finde, dass Liverpool definitiv touristischer ist als zum Beispiel Manchester. Die Einheimischen sprechen hier außerdem einen ausgeprägten Dialekt namens „Scouse“. Als Nicht-Muttersprachlerin fällt es mir normalerweise schwer, britische Dialekte zu unterscheiden, aber wenn jemand mit dem Scouse Akzent spricht, fällt das sogar mir auf.


Wir haben nur einen Tag in Liverpool verbracht und haben in dieser Zeit eine Flussrundfahrt auf der Mersey gemacht, den Albert Dock erkundet und sind im Cultural Quarter und auf der Bold Street flaniert. Es gibt in Liverpool unglaublich viel zu sehen und zu entdecken und ich denke mit all den Museen und Galerien kann man hier gut und gerne ein langes Wochenende verbringen ohne sich zu langweilen.

Previous Post Next Post

Leave a Reply

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.

%d Bloggern gefällt das: