May Week

Every year in June the colleges in Cambridge celebrate the ending of the academic year with festive parties called May Balls. Why they call it May Ball although being held in the middle of June, I am unable to tell. However, I am able to tell you how a May Ball looks like because I have been to two during the famous Cambridge May Week this year. I think going to a May Ball is probably the ultimate Cambridge experience. Barely anywhere else in the world do people in their 20-30s dress up in dinner jackets and full-lenght gowns to party all night sipping champaign and nibbling canapés.

Planning a May Ball already starts at least one year ahead. The May Ball committee chooses a theme, the setup and all the details that need to be considered when organising the big event. Nis‘ College Gonville & Caius announced their theme “Praeternaturalia – An Eletric Evolution” in February at the May Ball launch event at the Museum of Archaeology & Anthropology. Praeternaturalia is Latin and means „beyond the natural“. Here is an article on how the Gonville & Caius May Ball was organised.

May Ball Launch
May Ball Launch Gonville and Caius February 2016

Standard ticket prices vary between 100 and 200 Pounds which is certainly not cheap but it is really good value for money considering that you are being offered food, drinks and entertainment all night.

Caius-queuing
Queuing for Caius May Ball
St-Edmunds-queuing
Entertainment while queuing at St Edmund’s May Ball
Caius-Mayball-2016
Caius May Ball 2016

This year Nis and I went to Gonville & Caius and St Edmunds College May Ball. Both balls were very entertaining and fascinating in their own ways, but hardly comparable to each other. First of all, the tickets for Caius were 60 Pounds more expensive and the college grounds differ a lot from each other. The outside area of Caius is relatively compact as it consists mainly of three courts whereas Eddies made the most of their large lawns and arranged dodgems for example.

Dodgems-StEdmunds

St-Edmunds-May-Ball

Firebreather-Eddies
Firebreather
Shisha-Eddies
Shisha Tent St Edmund’s
Giant-Jenga
Giant Jenga Tower
Casino-StEdmunds
Casino Room St Edmund’s

Caius, however, opened many doors that usually remain locked to most students and the public, so we were able to explore the entire college including the Master’s garden.

Caius-Cupcakes
Cupcake Tent in the Master’s Garden
Caius-May-Ball-Masters-Garden
Live Music in the Master’s Garden

Caius-May-Ball

Mermaid-Cave-Caius
Mermaid cave with glitter make-up

And at both balls we made it to the survivor photo! That is the group picture taken between 5 and 6 in the morning with all the people who managed to stay up and party all night long.

Caius-Senior-Parlour
Mirror selfie in the Senior’s Parlour
Treecourt-Caius
Tree Court Gonville & Caius
Crepes-May-Ball
Crêpes!

Finally, here are my top 5 tips to successfully survive a Cambridge May Ball:

  1. Wear shoes with a wide heel! Stilettos always sink into the soft grass.
  2. You are not obliged to wear a floor-lenght gown. One that covers the knee is just fine. This especially becomes handy if you wear a light coloured dress as long dresses tend to soak up all the dirt from the muddy grounds.
  3. Get your sneakers out! At some point no one cares anymore what kind of shoes you wear and sneakers are the best for dancing anyway.
  4. Don’t forget your extra layers! I get cold very easily and need a jacket at some point, especially when I spend most of the night outside. You might as well just become more British and pretend that it is still warm enough for the strapless dress and the open high heels at 2 o‘clock in the morning.
  5. Bring your umbrella! British weather is unpredictable, especially in summer. Some colleges hand out umbrellas when it starts raining but I would rather not count on that.

If you are now wondering how to carry all this stuff with you for a whole night, don’t worry! Usually there is a cloakroom or some place where you can store it all until you need it.

Pizza-Eddies
Pizza!
Coffee-StEdmunds
Coffee is needed for early mornings!
StEdmunds-Liveband
Live Music St Edmund’s
Silent-Disco-StEdmunds
Silent Disco

In case my glimpse on two May Balls was not enough the student newspaper “Varsity” published reviews on several May Balls. So go ahead and have a look at how other colleges celebrated the ending of exam term, like Trinity College or Jesus College

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

In Cambridge on
03/07/2016

May Week

Jedes Jahr im Juni feiern die Colleges in Cambridge das Ende des akademischen Jahres mit rauschenden Bällen, den May Balls! Warum sie May Balls genannt werden, obwohl sie im Juni stattfinden, ich weiß es nicht. Was ich jedoch weiß, ist, dass der Besuch eines solchen Balls die ultimative Cambridge Erfahrung ist. Ich glaube nirgendwo sonst auf der Welt versammeln sich 20- bis 30-Jährige in Dinner Jackets und langen Abendkleidern, um die ganze Nacht bei Champagner, Cocktails und Canapés zu feiern.

Die Planung eines solchen May Balls beginnt zumeist schon mehr als ein Jahr zuvor, indem sich ein May Ball Committee zusammenschließt, um das Thema, den Aufbau und all die Details des May Balls zu organisieren. Im Februar kündigte Nis‘ College Gonville & Caius das Thema des May Balls groß im Museum of Archaeology & Anthropology an: „Praeternaturalia – An Electric Evolution“. Praeternaturalia heißt so viel wie „über die natürlichen Dinge hinaus“. Dieser Artikel beschreibt, wie der May Ball für Gonville & Caius geplant wurde.

May Ball Launch

May Ball Launch Gonville & Caius

Standard Ticketpreise variieren je nach College zwischen 100 und 200 Pfund pro Person. Das ist sicher kein Schnäppchen, wenn man jedoch bedenkt, was einem in der May Ball Nacht alles geboten wird, hat man eigentlich ein sehr gutes Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis. Es gibt die ganze Nacht Essen, Getränke und Entertainment in Form von Musik, Kunst oder Jahrmarkt-Attraktionen.

Caius-queuing

Queuing for Caius May Ball

St-Edmunds-queuing

Entertainment while queuing at St Edmund’s May Ball

Caius-Mayball-2016

Caius May Ball 2016

Nis und ich waren dieses Jahr auf zwei May Balls – Gonville & Caius (sein aktuelles College) und St Edmund’s (sein College während des Erasmus-Semesters). Beide Bälle waren auf ihre Art sehr unterhaltsam und abwechslungsreich, sind aber schwer miteinander zu vergleichen. Zum einen waren die Tickets für Caius 60 Pfund teurer als für St Edmunds und zum anderen unterscheidet sich das College Gelände sehr voneinander. Während Caius‘ Außengelände hauptsächlich aus drei Innenhöfen besteht und dadurch sehr kompakt wirkt, hat sich Eddies seine großen Rasenflächen zunutze gemacht und zum Beispiel Autoscooter angeboten.

Dodgems-StEdmunds

St-Edmunds-May-Ball

Firebreather-Eddies

Firebreather

Shisha-Eddies

Shisha Tent St Edmund’s

Giant-Jenga

Giant Jenga Tower

Casino-StEdmunds

Casino Room St Edmund’s

In Caius waren all die noblen Räume, die sonst zumeist verschlossen sind, für eine Nacht offen, sodass man das ganze College erkunden konnte.

Caius-Cupcakes

Cupcake Tent in the Master’s Garden

Caius-May-Ball-Masters-Garden

Live Music in the Master’s Garden

Caius-May-Ball

Mermaid-Cave-Caius

Mermaid cave with glitter make-up

Und wir haben es bei beiden Bällen bis zum Survivor Foto geschafft! Das ist das Gruppenfoto mit all denjenigen, die bis 5 oder 6 Uhr morgens durchgefeiert haben.

Caius-Senior-Parlour

Mirror selfie in the Senior’s Parlour

Treecourt-Caius

Tree Court Gonville & Caius

Crepes-May-Ball

Crêpes!

Zum Abschluss noch meine Top 5 Tipps, um einen Cambridge May Ball erfolgreich zu überstehen:

  1. Trage High Heels mit einem dicken Absatz! Pfennigabsätze versinken nämlich ständig im weichen Gras.
  2.  Man muss nicht unbedingt ein bodenlanges Kleid tragen, knapp über die Knie reicht auch. Das empfiehlt sich vor allem bei hellen Kleidern, da man lange Kleider die ganze Nacht über nasses Gras, Dreck und verschüttete Getränke schleift.
  3. Pack deine Sneakers ein! Irgendwann kümmert es keinen mehr, welche Schuhe man trägt und Sneakers sind nun mal am besten zum Tanzen und können auch mal schmutzig werden.
  4. Vergiss die extra Schichten nicht! Ich bin einfach eine Frostbeule und brauche irgendwann eine warme Jacke, vor allem wenn man die ganze Nacht draußen verbringt. Oder werde einfach Englisch und tu so als wäre es auch nachts um 2 Uhr noch warm genug für das schulterfreie Kleid und die offenen High Heels.
  5. Nimm einen Regenschirm mit! Auf das englische Wetter ist einfach keinen Verlass, auch nicht im Sommer. Manche Colleges verteilen auch Schirme, wenn es anfängt zu regnen, aber das ist nicht immer der Fall.

Falls du dich nun fragst, wie du das alles schleppen sollst: Normalerweise gibt es auf jedem May Ball eine Garderobe oder einen Platz, an dem man all das deponieren kann.

Pizza-Eddies

Pizza!

Coffee-StEdmunds

Coffee is needed for early mornings!

StEdmunds-Liveband

Live Music St Edmund’s

Silent-Disco-StEdmunds

Silent Disco

Sollte dieser kleine Einblick in die May Week nicht genügen, gibt es auf der Webseite von „Varsity“, der Studentenzeitung hier in Cambridge, einige Berichte zu verschiedenen anderen May Balls, zum Beispiel Trinity College oder Jesus College.

Previous Post Next Post

Leave a Reply

%d Bloggern gefällt das: