Quiraing Scotland

A Scotland itinerary

When I started planning this trip to Scotland I felt a bit overwhelmed because I just didn’t know where to start. There are so many areas and places worth visiting but we only had one week and I found it quite difficult to pick the ‘right’ spots. We also didn’t stay at one place, so we had to find a reasonable route that didn’t cost too much money or time.

After all, with the help of a good old guide book and a bit of online research, I managed to get an overview of Scotland to create our own, bespoke itinerary. If it helps you to plan your Scotland trip someday, even better!

Caledonian Sleeper Train

When I heard about the sleeper train from London to Edinburgh, I knew I wanted to get on this train. I think it’s an adventure to spend the night on a train and wake up at your destination in the morning. I might have romanticised it a bit because the berths are actually really small and not very comfortable for tall people (poor Nis). But I’m still glad I did it, I just wouldn’t do it again, also for the sake of money. It cost us £90 per person and the flight back from Edinburgh to London Stansted just £35!

Caledonian Sleeper
So here is a Google Maps screenshot of our road trip:

Road trip Scotland

As I took way too many photos to show in just one post I decided to spread the content over five individual blog posts, according to where we stayed.

Day 1: Edinburgh

We spent the first day without a car and explored the city by foot and by bus. As it was pouring down all day unfortunately, we decided to go on a guided tour bus, which gives a good overview of the city and its culture and history. Sitting on a bus also helps staying dry! In the afternoon we went for an afternoon tea at The Dome, which was nice but I’ve had better sandwiches and scones before, to be honest.

The Dome

Edinburgh has a new and an old part, literally called New Town and Old Town. Combined they have UNESCO World Heritage status. The city is indeed very well preserved, and I really liked walking around the Old Town with its labyrinth of cobbled streets, narrow alleyways and hidden courtyards, which date from the Middle Ages and the Reformation-era. The New Town is more structured and ordered with neoclassical and Georgian architecture from the 18th and 19th centuries. There are so many things to do and see in Edinburgh, so I definitely want to go back someday to explore some of the museums and the castle and to climb one of the hills, Arthur’s Seat or Calton Hill.

Edinburgh Castle
Edinburgh Castle
Edinburgh Old Town
View from New Town towards Old Town
Royal Mile Edinburgh

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

In Travel on
09/07/2017

Eine Reiseroute durch Schottland

Quiraing Scotland

Die Reiseplanung für Schottland fand ich ganz schön kompliziert und überfordernd, da es so viele interessante Orte gibt, wir aber nur eine Woche Zeit hatten, einige dieser Plätze zu erkunden. Da sich unser Aufenthaltsort fast täglich änderte, mussten wir außerdem eine möglichst sinnvolle Route finden, die nicht zu viel Zeit und Geld kostete.

Mit der Hilfe eines guten alten gedruckten Reiseführers und etwas Online-Recherche hatten wir irgendwann einen groben Überblick und konnten so unsere eigene Reiseroute kreieren. Vielleicht hilft sie ja irgendwann jemandem dabei, die eigene Schottland-Reise zu planen!

Caledonian Sleeper Train

Als ich zum ersten Mal vom Nachtzug von London nach Edinburgh hörte, wusste ich, dass ich unbedingt einmal mit diesem Zug fahren möchte. Ich finde, es hat etwas Abenteuerliches, die Nacht im Zug zu verbringen und am nächsten Morgen am Reiseziel aufzuwachen. Vermutlich waren meine Vorstellungen etwas zu romantisch, denn die Kabinen sind ziemlich klein und nicht wirklich gemütlich, vor allem nicht für große Menschen (armer Nis). Dennoch bin ich froh, dass ich es gemacht habe, ich würde nur nicht noch einmal mit diesem Zug fahren, auch des Geldes wegen. Ein Zugticket hat pro Person 90 Pfund gekostet, das Flugticket von Edinburgh zurück nach London Stansted nur 35!

Caledonian Sleeper
Hier ist also ein Screenshot unseres Road Trips:

Road trip Scotland

Da ich viel zu viele Fotos gemacht habe, um sie in einem Beitrag zu zeigen, habe ich beschlossen, fünf einzelne Blog Posts zu veröffentlichen.

Tag 1: Edinburgh

Am ersten Tag haben wir zunächst auf ein Auto verzichtet und die Stadt zu Fuß und mit dem Bus erkundet. Leider hat es den ganzen Tag geregnet, weshalb wir Edinburgh viel von einem geführten Bus aus gesehen haben. Man bekommt aber einen guten Überblick über die Stadt und ihre Kultur und Geschichte und vor allem bleibt man trocken! Am Nachmittag gab es Afternoon Tea bei The Dome, was ganz nett war, aber ich habe schon bessere Sandwiches und Scones gegessen, um ehrlich zu sein.

The Dome

In Edinburgh gibt es eine Alt- und eine Neustadt, wörtlich übersetzt New Town und Old Town, die gemeinsam ein UNESCO Weltkulturerbe bilden. Die Stadt ist tatsächlich sehr gut erhalten und mir hat besonders die Old Town gefallen. Sie besteht aus einem Labyrinth aus gepflasterten Straßen, engen Gassen und versteckten Hinterhöfen aus dem Mittelalter und dem Zeitalter der Reformation. Die New Town ist geordneter und strukturierter mit neoklassizistischer und georgianischer Architektur aus dem 18. Und 19. Jahrhundert. In Edinburgh gibt es so viel zu sehen und zu entdecken, weshalb ich definitiv mal wieder herkommen will, um mir die Museen und das Schloss genauer anzuschauen und um einen der beiden Hügel zu erklimmen, Arthur’s Seat oder Calton Hill.

Edinburgh Castle

Edinburgh Castle

Edinburgh Old Town

View from New Town towards Old Town

Royal Mile Edinburgh

Previous Post Next Post

Leave a Reply

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.

%d Bloggern gefällt das: