In Cambridge on
22/05/2016

The Cambridge Backs

Kings College Chapel

It has been seven months now since we moved to this lovely city and sometimes I need to remind myself of how magical it actually is. At the weekends Cambridge is very busy and I usually try to run my errands quickly, so I can leave this busyness swiftly behind me. I tend to ignore the colleges despite the fact that they are actually real sanctuaries within the city.
There are no narrow pavements with way to many people passing, no frantic cyclist who almost run you over when crossing the street, and no risk of getting sucked into the consumerism at local shops. Instead you find green lawns, historical architecture and heavenly silence!

Unfortunately most of  the colleges do not allow visitors at the moment because it is Easter Term which means that students have exams and therefore need a calm environment to revise. However, it is possible to catch a glimpse at some of the colleges from a different point of view, and that is from the Backs. The Backs are a picturesque area where the following colleges back on the river Cam:

  • Magdalene
  • St John’s
  • Trinity
  • Trinity Hall
  • Clare
  • King’s
  • Queen’s

The most relaxing way to explore the Backs is from the river on a punt. Usually the punter has a lot of college anecdotes to tell while you can lay back and enjoy the view of ancient college architecture. It is a bit more complicated to explore the Backs by land as the colleges do not have something like a continuous riverside path.

St. John’s and Queen’s have buildings on both sides of the river which are spanned by two famous bridges: The Mathematical Bridge and The Bridge of Sighs.

The Backs are one of these magical spots in Cambridge that consistently amaze me because they are so beautiful. In spring the lawns are covered with a blanket of crocuses and tulips whilst in summer one punt after another floats down the river and tourists in every language admire the beautiful view of the Cambridge Backs.

Previous Post Next Post

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

In Cambridge on
22/05/2016

The Cambridge Backs

Kings College Chapel

Sieben Monate wohnen wir nun schon an diesem wunderschönen Fleckchen in England und manchmal vergesse ich, wie magisch Cambridge eigentlich ist. Bin ich am Wochenende in der Stadt, lasse ich die Colleges meistens links liegen und versuche meine Besorgungen möglichst zügig zu machen, um der Hektik der Stadt schnell wieder entfliehen zu können. Dabei sind die Colleges ein wunderbarer Zufluchtsort, wenn man mal ein bisschen Ruhe braucht.
Keine engen Gehwege, auf denen sich viel zu viele Menschen tummeln, keine Fahrradfahrer, die einen fast umfahren, wenn man die Straße überquert und keine Gefahr, dem Konsumrausch in den Geschäften zu verfallen. Stattdessen: grüne Wiesen, historische Architektur und eine himmlische Ruhe!

Leider erlauben die meisten Colleges momentan keine Besucher, da im aktuellen Easter Term die Abschlussprüfungen stattfinden und die Studenten ihre Ruhe zum Lernen brauchen. Es gibt jedoch die Möglichkeit, einige der Colleges buchstäblich von einer anderen Seite zu bewundern, und das sind die „Backs“. Bei den Backs handelt es sich um das malerische Gebiet hinter den Colleges, die direkt an den Fluss Cam angrenzen. Das sind:

  • Magdalene
  • St. John’s
  • Trinity
  • Trinity Hall
  • Clare
  • King’s
  • Queen’s

Die entspannteste Variante, die Backs zu erkunden, ist vom Fluss aus in einem Punt. Meistens erzählt der Punter noch ein paar interessante Geschichten über die Colleges, während man selbst entspannt auf der Cam entlang schippert und die Aussicht genießt. Die Backs auf dem Landweg zu erkunden ist etwas umständlicher, da es so etwas wie eine durchgehende Uferpromenade von College zu College nicht gibt.


St. John’s und Queen’s College haben auf beiden Seiten der Cam Gebäude, die durch zwei berühmte Brücken miteinander verbunden sind: The Mathematical Bridge und The Bridge of Sighs (ja, die heißt gleich wie die Brücke in Venedig!).

Die Backs zählen auf jeden Fall zu den Orten in Cambridge, die mir immer wieder den Atem nehmen, weil sie einfach so schön sind. Im Frühjahr sind die Wiesen dort mit Krokussen und Tulpen bedeckt, während im Sommer ein Punt nach dem anderen übers Wasser gleitet und Touristen in allen Sprachen die Schönheit der Cambridge Backs bewundern.

Previous Post Next Post

Leave a Reply

%d Bloggern gefällt das: