In Cambridge on
08/10/2016

The Orchard in Grantchester

Visiting The Orchard in Grantchester has been at the top of my list of things to do in Cambridge for a very long time. The restaurant is only a few miles away from Cambridge which makes it easy to walk or cycle there along a picturesque riverside path. The Orchard is particularly famous for its spacious outdoor area where you can enjoy traditional English afternoon tea while sitting on comfortable deckchairs beneath apple trees.

The first tree was planted here in 1868 but it was not until 1897 that The Orchard became known as tea room first and foremost. Back then some students asked the owner Mrs Stevenson if they could take their tea to the orchard, rather than having it on the front lawn of her house. This soon became common practice and the word spread quickly that in Grantchester you could enjoy your afternoon tea in the sunshine beneath blossoming fruit trees. So The Orchard became a popular resort for many Cambridge students who needed some rest from revising and writing exams.

theorchard

afternoontea-theorchard

Traditional English afternoon tea with scones, clotted cream and jam

Up until now, tourists, locals and students like to take a stroll from Cambridge to Grantchester to have some tea and scones in an idyllic and relaxing atmosphere. It is also possible to get there by punt or kayak on the river. Along the way you can usually spot groups of picnickers and on very sunny and warm days even swimmers. In September, when I took a walk to Grantchester, people stopped along the way to pick the ripe and juicy brambles from the many bushes in this area.

brambles-grantchester

walk-to-grantchester

punting-to-grantchester

punt-grantchester

At the beginning of the 20th century a group of students and researchers regularly met at The Orchard. Among this so-called “Grantchester-Group” were Rupert Brooke, Virginia Woolf, John Maynard Keynes, E.M. Forster, Betrand Russell, Augustus John and Ludwig Wittgenstein.

thegrantchestergroup
So even if you just go out for some tea you end up standing “on the shoulders of giants”, which is what makes Cambridge so special. Everywhere in and around the city people left traces of their discoveries, inventions and thoughts which shaped the world we are living in now.

 

Previous Post Next Post

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

In Cambridge on
08/10/2016

The Orchard in Grantchester

Auf meiner To-Do Liste ganz weit oben stand schon seit langem ein Besuch im berühmten „The Orchard“ – ein Restaurant im idyllischen Dorf Grantchester, das nur wenige Kilometer entfernt von Cambridge liegt. Berühmt ist es vor allem wegen des traditionellen englischen „Afternoon Tea“, den man hier inmitten von Apfelbäumen auf gemütlichen Liegestühlen genießen kann. „Orchard“ heißt wörtlich übersetzt „Obstplantage“ und der erste Apfelbaum wurde hier im Jahr 1868 gepflanzt. Als „Tea Room“ wurde The Orchard allerdings erst im Jahre 1897 bekannt.

Damals fragten einige Studenten die Besitzerin Mrs Stevenson, ob sie ihren Tee auf die blühende Obstwiese mitnehmen dürften anstatt ihn auf der Wiese direkt vor dem Haus zu trinken. Das wurde bald zur Gewohnheit und es sprach sich schnell rum, dass es in Grantchester einen Tea Room unter Obstbäumen gibt, sodass sich The Orchard zu einem beliebten Erholungsort für viele Studenten entwickelt hat.

theorchard

afternoontea-theorchard

Traditional English afternoon tea with scones, clotted cream and jam

Bis heute spazieren Touristen, Einheimische und Studenten von Cambridge nach Grantchester am Fluss entlang, um sich schließlich im The Orchard bei Scones und Tee auszuruhen. Man kann auch nach Grantchester punten oder mit dem Kajak fahren. Entlang der ganzen Strecke sieht man dann Gruppen beim Picknick, im Sommer gehen hier sogar Leute im Fluss baden und im September kann man ganz viele reife Brombeeren auf dem Weg pflücken.

brambles-grantchester

walk-to-grantchester

punting-to-grantchester

punt-grantchester

Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts bildete sich im The Orchard zudem die sogenannte „Grantchester-Group“, eine Gruppe von Studenten und Wissenschaftlern, die sich hier regelmäßig traf, um über Gott und die Welt zu philosophieren. Unter ihnen waren Rupert Brooke, Virgina Woolf, John Maynard Keynes, E. M. Forster, Bertrand Russell, Augustus John und Ludwig Wittgenstein.

thegrantchestergroup
Selbst wenn man also nur gemütlich Tee trinken geht, steht man hier „auf den Schultern von Riesen“, aber gerade das ist das Besondere und Schöne an Cambridge. Überall in der Gegend haben Leute ihre Spuren hinterlassen, Dinge erfunden und entdeckt, die die Welt ein Stück vorangebracht haben.

Previous Post Next Post

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d Bloggern gefällt das: