Victoria Baths Manchester

Victoria Baths in Manchester

The article about our trip to Manchester has been in my blogging pipeline for quite a while and it feels strange to publish it now, the week after the bombing in Manchester. If you have been to a place where an attack happened you somehow have more of a connection to it and it feels more real. It makes you realise that you have no control whatsoever of when these things happen and how you can protect yourself, family and friends. However, I can control my attitude and my reaction towards it. I can decide not to be scared and to continue travelling and exploring new places.

One of these places are the Victoria Baths, a Grade II listed building in Manchester which opened to the public in 1906. Most of the interior features like wall tiles, mosaic floors and stained glass windows date from the early 20th century. The Baths were closed in 1993 because the maintenance costs were too high. The building is currently restored but people can have a look around and book it for events, for example as a wedding venue.

Victoria Baths 1st class male
1st class male swimming pool

Victoria Baths stained glass

In 2003 the Victoria Baths Trust won the BBC’s Restauration series and was awarded a £3m Heritage Lottery Grant that kicked off the restauration.

Victoria Baths Entrance

Victoria Baths Entrance

In the early 20th century, segregation both by gender and class was the norm, which is why the Victoria Baths have three swimming pools and entrances: 1st class male, 2nd class male and female. The first-class pool was reserved for the wealthiest gents, who were given the cleanest water. Their leftovers filtered into the second-class male pool next door and then finally to the female baths.

Changing cubicles in the female baths

Swimming wasn’t the only activity in the Victoria Baths. Above the second-class male pool, people could also take an ordinary bath in separate cubicles. With Manchester being one of the centres of the Industrial Revolution, the population grew fast, diseases spread quickly and the child mortality was high. Back then most of the houses didn’t have a bathroom, so the Baths also served as an institution to educate people about personal hygiene.

Turkish Baths

The long-term aim is to have public swimming at Victoria Baths again. Today this is just possible on one-off occasions, for example on the 14th of May this year when 177 lucky swimmers enjoyed the first public session at Victoria Baths since it closed in 1993.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

In Travel on
27/05/2017

Victoria Baths in Manchester

Victoria Baths Manchester

Ich arbeite schon eine Weile an meinem Beitrag zu unserem Ausflug nach Manchester und es fühlt sich irgendwie seltsam an, ihn gerade jetzt zu veröffentlichen, in der Woche nach dem Terroranschlag in Manchester. Selbst schon einmal in einer Stadt gewesen zu sein, wo ein Anschlag passiert, macht solche Ereignisse greifbarer und irgendwie realer. Mir wird dann wieder schmerzhaft bewusst, dass ich keinerlei Kontrolle darüber habe, wann oder wo ein Anschlag passiert und wie ich mich und meine Familie und Freunde am besten davor schützen kann. Ich kann aber meine Einstellung dazu kontrollieren, mich nicht einschüchtern lassen und weiterhin auf Reisen gehen und neue Orte erkunden.

Einer dieser Orte sind die Victoria Baths in Manchester, ein denkmalgeschütztes Schwimmbad, das 1906 eröffnet wurde. Die Inneneinrichtung mit Mosaikböden, Buntglas und Keramikfließen ist zu großen Teilen noch von damals erhalten. Das Schwimmbad wurde 1993 geschlossen, da die Instandhaltungskosten zu hoch waren. Es wird momentan restauriert, man kann es aber besichtigen oder für Veranstaltungen, z.B. Hochzeiten, buchen.

Victoria Baths 1st class male

Becken 1. Klasse Männer

Victoria Baths stained glass

2003 gewann der Victoria Baths Trust bei der BBC Show „Restauration“ den ersten Platz und sicherte sich damit einen „Heritage Lottery Grant“ von £3m, der als Startkapital für die Restaurierung genutzt wurde.

Victoria Baths Entrance

Victoria Baths Entrance

Die Trennung nach Geschlecht und Klasse war im frühen 20. Jahrhundert ganz normal, weshalb es in den Victoria Baths drei Becken und Eingänge gibt: 1. Klasse Männer, 2. Klasse Männer und Frauen. Diese Trennung ging so weit, dass die 1. Klasse Männer das frischeste Wasser bekam. Danach wurde es grob gefiltert und zunächst in das Becken der 2. Klasse Männer und schließlich in das Schwimmbad für die Frauen geleitet.

Umkleideräume im Pool für die Frauen

Es gab in den Victoria Baths nicht nur große Schwimmbecken, sondern auch kleine Badekabinen, in denen man ein gewöhnliches Bad nehmen konnte. Als eines der Zentren der Industriellen Revolution wuchs die Stadt Manchester schnell, Krankheiten brachen aus und die Kindersterblichkeitsrate war hoch. Badezimmer hatten damals die wenigsten Häuser, weshalb die Bevölkerung in den Victoria Baths auch über persönliche Hygiene informiert wurde.

Turkish Baths

Das Ziel ist, die Victoria Baths wieder komplett für den eigentlichen Zweck, das Schwimmen, zu restaurieren. Momentan ist das nur ab und zu möglich, zum Beispiel am 14. Mai diesen Jahres, als 177 Schwimmer während einer öffentlichen Session zum ersten Mal seit der Schließung 1993 wieder in den Pool der 1. Klasse Männer gesprungen sind.

Previous Post Next Post

Leave a Reply

%d Bloggern gefällt das: