How to spend two and a half days in Paris

In a nutshell: do some planning beforehand, wear comfortable shoes and get blister plaster! Seriously, if you intend to explore Paris at the same pace that we did these three things are compulsory.

Getting from London to Paris is so easy with the Eurostar, a high-speed train which takes you directly from St Pancras to Gare du Nord in 2 ½ hours. And there is free wifi on the train, so the journey seems to be even shorter. If you are a flexible traveller and book early you can get tickets from £29 one way. A bargain!

Jardin de Tuileries

Planning a trip is actually part of the travel excitement for me, so I spent a Sunday afternoon doing some internet research, mainly using Instagram, where I had been following Chloe (@mylifelivingabroad) for quite a while. She’s a British expat living in Paris and shares some really helpful insider tips on her blog mylifelivingabroad.com.


During our stay we were based at a friend’s place in Montparnasse which is in the southern part of Paris (rive gauche). Getting around in Paris is quite straight forward if you are familiar with public transport systems in big cities. You should get a “carnet” of 10 tickets for the métro as they are discounted. Unfortunately there is no such thing like an Oyster Card or contactless payment like in London (at least not for tourists), so you have to carry these small paper tickets with you, which is a bit of a pain.


Apparently it was the first sunny spring weekend in Paris and I can assure you that Paris in spring is just gorgeous! That’s why we spent most of our time wandering around and barely went inside any buildings except for food, wine and coffee. Actually not even for that because Paris has this wonderful outdoor café culture, so people gather outside coffee shops and bars, enjoying the sunshine while sipping on a glass of wine.


From Montparnasse we made our way up to the Île de la Cité, walking through the Jardin du Luxembourg, passing the Sorbonne and the Panthéon, and finally crossing the river to see the Cathédrale Notre-Dame de Paris.

Jardin du Luxembourg
Notre Dame

When you cross the Seine once again, you end up in an area called Le Marais. This part of the city is full of quirky shops, hip art galleries and pretty cobblestone alleys.

Place des Vosges – Le Marais

Pretty exhausted from getting up early and walking around all afternoon, we ended our day back in Montparnasse in a typical French restaurant called L’Enfance du Lard. Be aware that going out for dinner can cost you 30 to 50 Euro per person, which is a standard price in this area. In general, going out for dinner is way more expensive than having lunch, so it might be worth cooking dinner at the place where you’re staying to save some money. Or just buy a bottle of wine, some bread and cheese and have your dinner on the steps of the Sacré Coeur!

View from the Sacré Coeur

That’s where we were headed the next day. We got our petit déjeuner from a bakery called Le Grénier à Pain in Montmartre and enjoyed some quiet time in front of the “I Love You Wall”. So romantic, until a bunch of teenagers emerged from the métro station and a bridal pair started posing for photos in front of the wall.

We got there at around 9am and one hour later Montmartre was crowded, so if you’re the kind of person who enjoys walking through empty cobbled alleys I recommend you get up even earlier. We had already lost two hours of sleep, one for travelling to the continent and one for changing the clocks to summertime that weekend, so our bodies simply denied getting up earlier.

Montmartre

Before we headed back to the Île de la Cité for our river cruise we had a really nice and reasonably priced lunch at a French restaurant called Le Basilic in Montmartre. I can highly recommend!

Our Seine cruise took us from Pont du Neuf to the Eiffel Tower, going around the Île de la Cité, where the city of Paris was initially founded. It’s a very relaxed way to see most of the major sights and it allowed us to recharge some energy after our long walking tour in Montmartre.

Pont du Neuf


In the evening, our friend Adrien showed us around one of the hip areas in north-eastern Paris, the district around Canal Saint-Martin. We went to a nice little Croque Monsieur place, a dish I got introduced to during my time in France and which is still part of our list of meals Nis and I cook over and over again.


The first highlight on Monday was visiting the Eiffel Tower in the morning, which was our starting point for a long walking tour to the Arc de Triomphe and the Avenue des Champs-Élysées. We passed the Place de la Concorde which leads to the Jardin de Tuileries and finished our journey at the Louvre.


Louvre
Jardin de Tuileries

All these buildings are part of the Voie Triumphale, one straight line from the monument Grande Arche in the business district La Défense to the Louvre. The buildings on this line were designed and built in different eras by different architects, which makes their exact alignment even more impressive.

Arc de Triomphe, seen from the Champs d’Élysées

The second highlight was the view from the rooftop terrace of the shopping centre Printemps de la Maison. There is a café on the ninth floor but you are not obliged to buy anything, so it’s completely free!

Finally, our Paris trip ended where it started, in the Jardin du Luxembourg, with our first ice cream of the year and many happy memories made in just two and a half days!

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

In Travel on
24/04/2017

Zweieinhalb Tage in Paris

Wer Paris in derselben Geschwindigkeit wie wir erkunden möchte, sollte definitiv folgende Dinge im Gepäck haben: bequeme Schuhe, Blasenpflaster und eine gute Reiseplanung!

Wir sind mit dem Zug von London St Pancras direkt nach Paris Gare du Nord gefahren, was nur 2 ½ Stunden dauert. Im Eurostar gibt es kostenloses WLAN, was die Fahrt noch kürzer erscheinen lässt. Wenn man flexibel ist und das Zugticket weit im Voraus bucht, kann man für £58 (ca. 70 Euro) hin- und wieder zurückfahren. Ein Schnäppchen!

Jardin de Tuileries

Mir macht es Spaß eine Reise im Voraus zu planen und das Internet nach Sehenswürdigkeiten, beliebten Plätzen und Restaurants zu durchforsten. Ich nutze dabei hauptsächlich Instagram, wo ich auf Chloe’s Account gestoßen bin (@mylivelivingabroad). Sie ist Britin, lebt aber schon eine Weile in Paris und veröffentlicht viele hilfreiche Insider Tipps auf ihrer Webseite mylifelivingabroad.com.


Während unserer Reise sind wir glücklicherweise bei unserem Freund Adrien in Montparnasse untergekommen, was im südlichen Teil von Paris liegt (rive gauche). Man kommt hier am einfachsten von A nach B mit der Métro. Ein „carnet“ von zehn Métro Tickets kostet 14,50 Euro und ist günstiger als wenn man zehn Einzeltickets kauft. Anders als in London, wo es die sogenannte Oyster Card für die U-Bahn gibt, muss man in Paris diese kleinen Papiertickets mit sich herumtragen, was ich ein bisschen nervig fand.


Paris im Frühling ist wirklich herrlich und angeblich haben wir das erste richtig sonnige Wochenende erwischt. Wir sind deshalb viel draußen umhergewandert und haben kaum Zeit in Gebäuden verbracht. Nicht einmal für eine Tasse Kaffee oder ein Glas Wein mussten wir uns drinnen aufhalten, da Cafés und Bars ihren Betrieb sofort nach draußen verlagern, sobald der erste warme Sonnenstrahl erscheint.


So sind wir also zunächst von Montparnasse zur Île de la Cité gelaufen und sind dabei an folgenden Sehenswürdigkeiten vorbeigekommen: Jardin du Luxembourg, die Sorbonne, das Panthéon und die Cathédrale Notre-Dame de Paris.

Jardin du Luxembourg

Notre Dame

Wenn man über die ganze Insel geht, landet man in einem Viertel namens Le Marais. Hier gibt es viele hippe Galerien, interessante Läden und hübsche kleine Straßen.

Place des Vosges – Le Marais

Nachdem wir morgens ziemlich früh aufgestanden waren und den ganzen Nachmittag umhergelaufen sind, haben wir unseren Tag in einem typisch französischen Restaurant namens L’Enfance du Lard in Montparnasse gemütlich ausklingen lassen. Man sollte sich bewusst sein, dass ein Abendessen in dieser Gegend 30 bis 50 Euro pro Person kostet. Generell ist es günstiger, wenn man über den Mittag anstatt abends essen geht. Oder man kauft sich einfach eine Flasche Wein, Käse und Brot und setzt sich auf die Stufen am Sacré-Coeur!

Blick vom Sacré-Coeur

Dort hat es uns allerdings erst am nächsten Morgen hin verschlagen. Wir haben unser „petit déjeuner“ vom Bäcker Le Grenier à Pain in Montmartre geholt und haben die Ruhe vor dem Sturm vor der „I Love You Wall“ genossen. Kurze Zeit später kam ein Haufen Teenager und ein Brautpaar für Fotos vorbei.

Wer gerne allein durch leere Gassen in Paris flaniert, sollte definitiv früher aufstehen. Wir waren um 9 Uhr in Montmartre und eine Stunde später war das Viertel voller Menschen. Wir hatten an dem Wochenende schon zwei Stunden Schlaf verloren, da die Uhr umgestellt wurde und man ja immer eine Stunde verliert, wenn man von England auf den Kontinent reist. Da konnten wir uns einfach nicht noch früher aus dem Bett quälen.

Montmartre

Bevor wir uns auf den Weg zurück zur Île de la Cité für unsere Flussrundfahrt machten, hatten wir ein sehr gutes und günstiges Mittagessen im Restaurant Le Basilic in Montmartre. Sehr zu empfehlen!

Unsere Flussrundfahrt startete an der Pont du Neuf und führte uns bis zum Eiffelturm um die Île de La Cité herum, wo Paris ursprünglich gegründet wurde. Paris vom Schiff aus zu erkunden ist sehr entspannt und man kann dabei ein bisschen Kraft tanken, wenn man den ganzen Tag zu Fuß unterwegs war.

Pont du Neuf

Abends hat uns Adrien in einen der hippen Stadtteile in der Nähe des Canal Saint Martin im Nordwesten von Paris geführt. Es gibt dort ein nettes kleines Croque Monsieur Restaurant, ein Gericht, das ich während meiner Zeit in Frankreich kennengelernt habe und das Nis und ich seither immer wieder kochen.


Das erste Highlight am Montag war der Eiffelturm, von wo aus wir uns auf dem Weg zum Arc de Triomphe und der Avenue des Champs–Élysées gemacht haben. Vorbei am Place de la Concorde und dem Jardin the Tuileries, sind wir schließlich am Louvre angekommen.


Louvre

Jardin de Tuileries

All diese Gebäude liegen auf einer geraden Linie durch die Stadt, auf dem sogenannten Voie Triomphale, der am Grande Arche im Viertel La Defense beginnt. Die Gebäude auf dieser Linie wurden in verschiedenen Epochen und von unterschiedlichen Architekten gebaut, was ihre exakte Ausrichtung umso beeindruckender macht.

Arc de Triomphe, seen from the Champs d’Élysées

Das zweite Highlight war die Aussicht vom Einkaufszentrum Printemps de la Maison. Es gibt ein Café im neunten Geschoss aber man muss dort nichts kaufen, der Eintritt ist also völlig kostenlos!

Unsere Paris Reise endete schließlich, wo sie angefangen hat, im Jardin du Luxembourg, mit unserem ersten Eis in diesem Jahr und vielen schönen Erinnerungen, die wir in nur zweieinhalb Tagen gesammelt haben.

Previous Post Next Post

2 Comments

  • Diana Moll

    Schöne Bilder!! 🙂

    Freitag, der 19. Mai 2017 at 07:28 Reply
    • lena

      Paris ist einfach sehr fotogen. 🙂

      Samstag, der 20. Mai 2017 at 15:03 Reply

    Leave a Reply

    %d Bloggern gefällt das: